ttb-ltr: Loes, Inge, Jitske; Sari, Britt, Jelle, Isabelle; Thijs, Ilze, Jeroen en Thomas.

The Springer committee takes care of sport activities or games for W.S.V. Desda, by organising tournaments of various kinds for example. Some of Springer’s activities are: a hitchhiking competition, a pooling competition, the murder game, and of course the annual Pancake-Eat-Run-Festivity.

The origin of the name Springer is not very clear. There is probably a connection with chess. The first edition of the Volgens Bartjes say: a better start than mr. Varma’s gift of chess, checkers, and cardgames is unthinkable for this games committee. There is also a dutch mathematician named T.A. Springer who worked in linear algebra. Whether the committee was named after a mathematician, as is the case for some other committees, remains unclear.

This committee has the following members:

  • Ilze van Kuilenburg — head
  • Isabelle Bloo
  • Jitske Bosma
  • Thomas van Harskamp
  • Thijs Hoevenaars
  • Jelle van der Horst
  • Sari Kuiers
  • Loes van Leeuwen
  • Inge Mos
  • Jeroen Winkel
  • Pam Gerrits – Chelcie
  • Kees Heesterbeek – Chelcie
  • Marleen Jansen – Chelcie
  • Bas Janssen – Chelcie
  • Fleur Moerman – Chelcie

Springer is available via springer@math.ru.nl.